Wednesday 12 December 2012

Series Review, Sanctuary

Sanctuary by RJ Scott
Series includes: Guarding Morgan, The One Easy Day,
Face Value, Still Waters, Full Circle
Adult Crime Romance


Morgan Drake is the only witness to a murder in an alleyway. Nik Valentinov works for Sanctuary, a foundation offering witness protection to anyone whose safety is compromised. Morgan discovers a bodyguard's arms can offer more than protection.

Morgan Drake witnesses a murder in an alleyway. He is the only person who can give evidence in prosecuting the cop responsible for the crime. When the FBI safe house where he's being held is compromised, he follows the instructions of the agent in charge and runs.

Nik Valentinov works for Sanctuary, a foundation that offers witness protection when FBI security is questionable.

When Morgan's handler sends him to Nik for safety, neither Morgan nor Nik could imagine that two weeks alone in a cabin in the woods would have their hearts racing with something much more than merely trying to keep Morgan alive.


The Thoughts
Here a start, these books are quite small, which isn’t all that different from a lot of the things that I have read from Scott in the past.
Saying this, these books needed something more. They either needed to be twice as long so as to bring in the full story, making them something more…. Or Scott needed to choose which story she was actually telling.
These books weren’t quite mystery’s, hell, to me they were romance, but without the adequate romance, which kinda sucks because Scott is quite good at those.

Saying this I quite enjoyed the series, as a whole.
They are about the group called Sanctuary—which is an organisation run by a rich fucker who recuts wash-outs. Okay, so they had to leave their fields for one reason or another, and he picked them up.
Anyway, this series is about the group going after the Bullen who are one of the big bad guys—mob I think they are meant to be, I have a funny feeling they had been called that, but I have read a lot of the books in such a short time, the tiny details that was thought once aren’t really on the top of my brain.

Still, the series is about the men hooking up, yes, like you probably guesses, or looked it up, this is about men hooking up. More so, it’s meant to be about working men, law in forcement men hooking up.
They are all, the men, forced together for some reason or another (eg. Rescue mission, brother bent of revenge, patient, old partners, guarding, and to come…..the shadow) and they hook up.
I would really like the say it was more than that, but it isn’t. The lack of romance threw these books is….is….I don’t but to me it makes everything less. I found it a little hard to follow, because it was….Scott needed to makes these more about the romance.
Not only were all there encounters to professing love short it was to a point that it wouldn’t have happened, that, for a reader it’s a little hard to swallow. Though for the most part, if you take away the first two books the characters are put into the story before they are hooking up, though saying this, it isn’t a first sighting between the soon-to-be-lovers, just them individually, like we get the start of their story so it doesn’t have to be there when the book starts.

They are great books, or at least a good series. Though it’s one of those crime books that let’s me know why I don’t read them, I’m not the greatest fan in that area. They are to…I don’t know, full of shit that doesn’t matter and I don’t care about, since I’m a romance reader.

I found as I was reading that it seemed a little let down, like it was missing something important, something vital though I’m sure it’s from the lake of romance and clearly is there in mute form. And no matter what, and this is probably the important part, I need to know what happens next. I what the next couple, how they’re going to hook up. How it’s going to play out. Even though I know, I know it’s not going to be as good as I hope.

Things that might be nice to know; this story, though it has male and male sex, and even penetrating sex, it’s light compared Scott’s other works.
It is also a series that is set as a series, though I didn’t start at the start, I found that it makes more scene, crime wise, if you read it in order. Though it’s not necessary, as far as I can see.

GoodReads info.
1.      Guarding Morgan
2.      The One Easy Day
3.      Face Value
4.      Still Waters
5.      Full Circle
Book 6, published 24th of November 2012 by Love Lane Book


Jake spends every Christmas at Sanctuary 1. From a small child the cabin was home for his family in the special season, and with the third anniversary of his dad's death approaching he arranges for Kayden, Beckett and himself to meet at the cabin a few days before Christmas. When a snowstorm means Kayden is blocked in NY with Beckett, Jake ends up in the cabin on his own.

Sean is being hunted and the only place he can run to is somewhere mentioned in an old journal - the original Sanctuary Cabin. The cabin is no longer in official use but it would be a good place to heal and take stock of just what the fuck is going on with his life.

Neither man is prepared for being stuck together for an entire week, nor for the secrets that threaten to get them both killed
Note: New cover set, is designed as the one at the top:)  

No comments:

Post a Comment