Friday, 17 August 2012

REVIEW, Untamed by PC & Kristin Cast

    Prod dets
Series: House of Night, # 4
Pub: 2008, (atom) St. Marin’s Press USA
Author: P.C & Kristin Cast
Cat: Fantasy & Magical realism (para romance?)
Format: paperback (mid); 411 pp w/ 33 chapters
Age Range: YA [16+]

‘I saw the end of everything.’ Aphrodite’s voice was as haunted as her face. ‘I saw all of it happening because you were dead. Zoey. Your death made it happen.’ ‘Ah, hell,’ I said and then my knees gave way and I had to sit down.

A week ago Zoey had a group of special friends, three boyfriends and a (kinda) clear conscience. Now she has none of the above. Luckily, ice-queen Aphrodite is showing signs of melting and ex-roomie Stevie Rae isn’t as dead as she’d thought. Thought Stevie Rae’s now hanging out in tunnels with freaks – totally gross.
Assuming she can get them to listen, Zoey will need all her friends as events take a frightening turn at the House of Night school for vampyres. Shocking true intentions are about to come to light, loyalties will be tested and an ancient evil is about to rise again.
Some days being special just doesn’t seem all that....

This book is the one that Aphrodite becomes a real main character, and even though she’s still a bitch, it’s like we get to see the real side of her, or at least bits of it, and it, to me, makes her character something to look at with a small smile rather than annoyance.
Its book begins with the crows, all around they hang, watching everything they do. The sons of Erebus come to help out, and protect their high priestess. And just when they thought they would be able to show the school what their high mistress was up to, a ancient evil angel comes out of the ground, Stevie Rae gets shot by an arrow by Stark, the new kid who died in Zoey’s eyes after telling her the gift he was given.

This read: wow, this was the book that would have ended my reading of the series, and it would have been a shame, because it gets better. Really, but you still have to read it.
So much shit happens in this book and it’s the start of the rest of the series, and yeah I’ve been saying that all this time, but it’s what the series is like. But at least we get some answers and something new and we get to see the evil rather than have it still lurking at our backs pretending to be our friends (saying this, it’s not like it’s complete, but we get to find out because Zoey really tells us more.)

Its’ very pushy and teen like with so much crying and bitching that it’s annoying for someone like me to read, but it’s interesting and it makes for some great moments that really push this series into something that older viewers should read.
Saying this, it’s actually a good series to read if you are thinking about drifting into the adult romance books, it’s full on but held back enough that’s it’s not too much.

I didn’t particularly like this book and really didn’t like the fact that I had (by myself) read it again but it’s not seems as much of a hardship as the last book, maybe because when I finish re-reading them, and reviewing them the series is getting itself a new home with a teen who could actually enjoy them.

Marked, Betrayed, Chosen, Untamed, Hunted, Tempted, Burned, Awaken, Destined,

No comments:

Post a Comment